login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.38 out of 5 stars 4.38 / 5.0 Based on 16 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised. Good service & portions bigger than I expected. Had the mole enchiladas-excellent & hubby had taco sampler also good. Sat at the bar & had a great view of the kitchen. Yummy mojitos-not too sweet. We would (& did) make a special trip to come here & will be back. kittykris
Reviews: 24
  2010-07-27
4.5 out of 5 stars Updating my initial review, service is still excellent, the layout and decor are attractive, and hats off for locating in the heart of the gritty 16th to 24th St. Mission corridor, not on Valencia St. I particularly like their simple dishes, handmade corn tortillas served warm, fresh guacamole, black beans and rice. I'm glad they're in what otherwise is the Mission's dead animal restaurant row. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2010-05-25
3.5 out of 5 stars Mixed experience here. Our two favorite dishes were the cauliflower gratin and the Mexican wedding cookies. Entrees were ok, but under seasoned and not super flavorful. Portions are generous, food arrived really hot and service was friendly. I might go back if in the neighborhood but I wouldn't say it's worth a special trip, especially with so many other great vegan options in the area. Soyboy
Reviews: 9
  2010-03-25
4.5 out of 5 stars Brussel sprouts with vegan parmesan-style cheese: DELICIOSO! Yum! Chile Relleno for my entree, a big roasted chile filled with veggies and nut cheese; not batter-fried; it was OK. The rice, beans, tortillas, and other fixin's that came with it were good. My boyfriend ordered the Mole enchilada which was fantastic (I tried some!). We love the upscale ambiance and lively Mission St location. calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2010-02-25
4 out of 5 stars Just give me the plain guacamole, refried beans and blue corn tortilla. That will make me happy. I don't need all that other fancy stuff. My friend said they did a great job on the guacamole. The tamale is made with a corn that is different/special. My favorite drink is the ginger beer. The decor is more fancy then I expected. All the staff members are super nice. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2010-01-27
5 out of 5 stars Goodbye growing pains, hello amazing food. Sangria was refreshing and fruity. Papas al horno were perfectly seasoned. Crispy with a spicy cashew cheese sauce. Mushroom tacos were excellent- garlicky and bursting with flavor. Homemade corn tortillas were amazing. Desserts were divine. Mexican wedding cookies were crunchy, crumbly and delicious. Coconut lime cheesecake was heaven on a plate. Dana
Reviews: 30
  2010-01-22
4.5 out of 5 stars Nice interior. Good service. $5 cocktails! Tried the Enchiladas con Mole, which was rather spicy, but really good. The three flavors of tacos were delicious too. Will definitely pay another visit. bunnygirl
Reviews: 18
  2010-01-18
4.5 out of 5 stars I've had the tacos, tamales and enchiladas by now. They are all good, and do not resemble each other. If you want a cheap burrito/taco joint don't go here. If you want something different, like Cafe Gratitude, then give it a try. Meals do not really resemble their namesakes, like at CG, but they are good in their own way. And I love that everything on the menu and in the kitchen is vegan. greg
Reviews: 133
  2010-01-17
5 out of 5 stars I love Gracias Madre's tamales. Some of the best tamales I have ever had. The Papas al Horno were amazing! I also loved the horchatas and sangria. My only suggestion is that pick up the spice a little bit. The ambiance is perfect. I love the communal tables, the patio in front, the art; a very welcome addition to the Mission District. It is wonderful to have an ORGANIC VEGAN mexican restaurant. sfliberal
Reviews: 2
  2010-01-09
4.5 out of 5 stars 2nd visit big improvement in flavors & got peppers side to ramp up the heat. One of my dream restaurants!: vegan, organic, Mexican! Very pleasant atmosphere inside w/some outdoor seating; large tables. Very friendly service. Excellent squash and kale sides. Excellent blue tortillas. Salsas better the second time/more spice. I will be returning! LHLisavegan
Reviews: 63
  2010-01-04
4 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved the Quesadillas and Tamale. Salsas were great. Also tried the potatos which could be more "cheesy." Blue corn tortillas are super yummy. Suggested to Gen. Mgr. to make all dishes available A La Carte. One mojito got me super drunk but I hadn't eaten anything all day before I drank it. Groovy vibe. EXPENSIVE !!!!!!! veggiegrrrl
Reviews: 15
  2010-01-04
4 out of 5 stars I was impressed by the ambiance, but the food could use some work. I love being able to order anything with no concern, but the menu was a little short and overpriced. The refried beans, brown rice and tortillas were PERFECT. The chile rellanos was bland and needed spice. The cheese was used too sparingly, and blander than the cheeses at Gratitude. No hot salsa? C'mon! seitan nic
Reviews: 15
  2010-01-04
4 out of 5 stars We enjoyed lunch here and were very pleased. The menu does not note what is spicey (the refried beans are, the black beans aren't) so you have to ask. The hot chocolate was divine, as was the orchata. The chiles rellenos (spicey) were very good. The tortillas are great. The rice was crunchy -- tasted as if it had spent too much time in the oven. Only bad part of the meal. No kids' plate yet. francie
Reviews: 8
  2010-01-03
4 out of 5 stars Great concept and great atmosphere. The enchiladas are really delicious, and they use fresh, organic ingredients. Everything tastes home made right then. Our favorites were the agua fresca, the enchilada plate and the homemade ice cream. My only complaint is the spiciness level isn't customizable. The waiter simply told us, "that's going to be spicy." Overall very good food and ambiance. dviolet
Reviews: 15
  2010-01-03
5 out of 5 stars Mexican food is the perfect theme for a vegan restaurant! 3 visits - terrific sides: b'nut squash, 'shrooms, pickled veggies, refried blk beans, nacho "cheese" (made w. cashew cream) potatoes. The table salsas (chipotle & tomatillo) are exemplary. Dishes are either very spicy or quite bland - ask. Service is extra friendly & helpful. Clean, big open kitchen, nice dining area. Vegan desserts! hughbc
Reviews: 7
  2009-12-31
4.5 out of 5 stars excellent food, excellent service, great atmosphere. They grow most of their ingredients on their own farm. This place is wonderful! Warren
Reviews: 37
  2009-12-27

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.