login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:0 out of 5 stars 0 / 5.0 Based on 16 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
3 out of 5 stars I like the whole 50s diner concept. Mostly vegetarian with a number of vegan choices. Had garlic fries and a chocolate (vegan) milkshake. The milkshakes were kind of pricey at $6 a piece, especially considering the kind of shake you could get a Maggie Mudds. bunnygirl
Reviews: 18
  2009-09-06
4 out of 5 stars Interesting student oriented environment. Very friendly service; must have improved dramatically from earlier reviewers' visits a few years ago. My vegan shake (chocolate with peanut butter added) was great; the burger and fries were OK. I'll try something different with my shake next time. Mostly veg, but enough vegan choices. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-09-14
3.5 out of 5 stars Went with visiting omnivore family. They loved it, my vegan breakfast was ok. Way too much onion in the tofu scramble. Their garlic fries are awesome. Funky interior. Very close to downtown Santa Cruz. Love that they serve Tang. Wouldn't go again for brunch, but would go again for garlic fries and Tang :) Dana
Reviews: 30
  2007-01-29
4.5 out of 5 stars Tried the Vegan burgers with steak fries and tomato soup (spicy and goooood!) We went at 6:30 PM, there was a very short line. Staff was very friendly and took our order right away and food arrive fairly quickly as well. (Maybe its different when there are very long lines). Will definitely go back and try other items on menu! Music is too loud for me, but I knew that beforehand.. Veena
Reviews: 9
  2007-01-02
3.5 out of 5 stars Update: I love getting the mushroom burger with steak fries and a chocolate milkshake made with about a pint of ice cream. The new decor is very nice and bathrooms are pleasant now. However, the service is full of "personality" and attitude that makes me not go there very often. Long waits to be seated or give order w/o an acknowledgement from staff that they know you're waiting. PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2006-12-20
4 out of 5 stars Went here for dinner - good fries, meals are ok. I didn't think it was super special food - very creative ambiance and decor. Great service, I got the sandwich/soup combo. Didn't like the soup - too spicy. Peanut butter vegan shake with chocolate was too rich for me - but good for those who love peanut butter to the max. Meghann
Reviews: 9
  2006-08-23
4.5 out of 5 stars Yes, garlic (thin) fries are a must and vegan peanut butter vanilla milkshake really good (these 2 together should be called the BAVeg Special!); they also have good veggie & brown rice with either ginger garlic or peanut sauces - vegan and vegan optional items shown on menu. Friendly but not prompt service when busy. Music can be loud; sometimes it's off entirely: better for conversation. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2006-08-05
4.5 out of 5 stars For vegans, weekend brunch menu only has limited options. Vegan scramble is excellent though and garlic fries are awesome!! Fries are lightly battered and served with lots of fresh garlic - very yummy and filling enough to be a meal on its own. Friendly staff, good service, fun decor. Mel is right - the vegan peanut butter shake is super yummy (better with vanilla ice cream than chocolate) tammy
Reviews: 112
  2006-07-02
4 out of 5 stars My summer 2006 update. Still has great burgers and extensive menu with many vegan options. But the garlic fries are a must try along with the vanilla peanut butter shake. Between them they're a meal. Very "Santa Cruz" and worth a visit. Super friendly staff that are very attentive and fill water often - which is lacking at many restaurants these days. chris
Reviews: 79
  2006-07-02
4.5 out of 5 stars Now all vegetarian! No more tuna-now have Tuno. Cute eccentric place. The best vegan peanut butter shake ever. Great burger and fries. If you have a headache, be warned, music is very loud. Open late. mel
Reviews: 18
  2006-04-22
4 out of 5 stars Good comfort food. Fun place to eat. Eccentric decor. Very good desserts if that is your thing. Definitely worth checking out at least once. tazforna
Reviews: 7
  2006-04-18
4 out of 5 stars Eccentric, punk decor, not the best service--but who cares! YUMMY food, filling, comfort food, fun people watching, great prices. Tofu scramble and "chicken" sandwich--Mmmmm. Pancakes: Winners. MyshkinIsPerfect
Reviews: 12
  2006-02-19
4.5 out of 5 stars Awesome place for vegans. Vegan nachos are yummy! Burgers and fries are tasty as well. It can get very busy and the service can be inefficient, but it stays open late - nice for after the bars close. kblue
Reviews: 16
  2005-09-14
2 out of 5 stars Saturn Cafe serves a brkfst special on weekends which is not on the menu, so do ask if you want breakfast. Good vegan options, but service was terrible and food arrived barely warm, after 40 min wait. liz
Reviews: 2
  2005-08-06
5 out of 5 stars Veggie junk food paradise--vegan nachos, soy ice creams & shakes, chocolate tofu pie, etc. Very Santa Cruz! kittykris
Reviews: 24
  2004-09-17
5 out of 5 stars I'd eat here every day if I lived in Santa Cruz! ;-) Great large menu, vegan items clearly marked, funky atmosphere. funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2004-06-02

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.