Reviews for Udupi Palace

Average rating:4.1 out of 5 stars 4.1 / 5.0 Based on 10 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars I really don't have anything to add from the other reviews. AWESOME food, good service, good prices, decent ambiance, excellent experience on the whole. bonk
Reviews: 2
  2010-03-21
5 out of 5 stars Excellent South Indian food. Large selections. Reasonable prices. Pleasing decor. Friendly, accommodating service. They're happy to turn down the music if asked, though usually it's low. 10% discount for members of the San Francisco Vegetarian Society. DrMEdelstein
Reviews: 6
  2010-02-04
4 out of 5 stars Very tasty! I like the uddampam thick pancake as well as the thinner dosa. One time we got the huge paper dosa, which is very dramatic, but I actually didn't like it as much as the regular dosa. The paper thin dosa seemed more fried and oily and felt less healthful to eat. We also liked the lentil donuts as an appetizer. calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2009-07-18
5 out of 5 stars I took my my non-veg cousins out for birthday dinner and they both enjoyed their meals--appetizers, entrees and dosas. Service was fast and accurate. I really like the Udupi Combo, pairing the idli/sambar with a large spicy dosa. The restaurant was busy for the Friday night hours we were there. Glad to have them in the Valencia vegan corridor. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2009-05-18
4.5 out of 5 stars Overall, enjoyable dining experience. Waiter was knowledgeable about pointing out vegan items, service is good, food was delivered quickly. Favorites include the samosa & spring dosa, and I tried my first Uthappam. All have been delicious, and bonus -- it's warm in the winter! (too many SF restaurants have no heating) Currently my favorite place to dine in SF. tammy
Reviews: 114
  2009-01-03
4.5 out of 5 stars Very nice addition to the Mission. Great decor and the food is tasty - I highly recommend the Spring Dosa. I much prefer Udupi over Dosa which is just down the street, as they're all veg and the restaurant doesn't feel as cramped. chris
Reviews: 80
  2008-11-29
3 out of 5 stars Excellent chutney. They knew what was vegan and made a point to tell the kitchen all vegan food and they were very nice. The dosa filling was good, the vegetable curry was ok. I didn't care for the white rice or the dosa bread. I might try one of the uthapam pancakes another time. I do like South (and East) Indian food but even the spicy dishes seemed bland to me. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2008-10-08
3.5 out of 5 stars Without advertising the very popular "chain" restaurant in just 2 weeks is very busy. Like Lucky Creation, most of the workers, including the chef are not vegetarian. The SPICY soup will light a fire thru your nose. I wasn't able to handle that. Wish the price was a tad cheaper. $10 for a Thali meal/lunch and dinner prices. Good to see many people eating a veg meal there sunny
Reviews: 81
  2008-08-04
1.5 out of 5 stars Just opened, but already popular. There was a bit of a wait, & our server confused a portion of our order with our neighbors. Instead of serving us the right dishes or comping us, they a)tried to get us to exchange half-eaten food w/each other & then b)charged us for our original orders, some of which we didn't get. The food was ok but the chutneys tasted very overspiced. I'll try again, though.. Becca
Reviews: 39
  2008-07-17
5 out of 5 stars Specializing in south Indian dosa, a stuffed crepe-like dish, they also have uthapam, a pancake-style variation of dosa, in addition to more traditional Indian curries, such as chana masala and vegetable curry. With an all-veg menu, large portions, reasonable prices, great service, nice ambiance, and a good mix of people, Udupi Palace is an instant classic and a new favorite. Dan
Reviews: 12
  2008-07-16

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.