Reviews for Merit Vegetarian

Average rating:4.71 out of 5 stars 4.71 / 5.0 Based on 14 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars My first time at Merit. Excellent service both quick and friendly. Unmatched cleanliness, good menu diversity, though a little heavy on the fake meats. Steamed veggie bun, Vietnamese crepe, potato curry all delicious. A really good South Bay vegan restaurant. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2010-08-30
5 out of 5 stars WOW! We haven't had this good of food since our very favorite place in the world, Fragrance Land, closed last year! We had the Vietnamese Crepe and it was AWESOME! Tasted like egg fu yung, from how I remember it before my vegan days. We had the Lotus Salad, but something in it was really spicey HOT, so that wasn't a big hit with us. We LOVE Merit! We've gone back 3 times already in two weeks! carolroars
Reviews: 7
  2010-04-08
4.5 out of 5 stars Probably my most favorite place to eat out at. Menu look virtually identical to Golden Era/Golden Lotus, which is no surprise as the owners are related - but the food just seems that much better here. Very high quality food. Big clean modern restaurant. Staff are super friendly, specially the owner. If you like GE you'll love this place. Close to Fry's Electronics for the geeks among you. Fav dishes: Lemongrass tofu, Spicy Mongolian Chicken, Lotus Salad - and of course the vegan choc cake. chris
Reviews: 79
  2010-01-13
4.5 out of 5 stars Excellent food. Love the fact that it's so dang close to my home/work. Service was fast and chef/waiter was very informative and energetic. I will now rotate between Merit and Great Vegi Land when I dine in Sunnyvale! veg4life
Reviews: 22
  2009-12-31
5 out of 5 stars Vietnamese crepes are excellent; lemongrass tofu very rich, complex flavorings; sesame eggplant tofu also excellent. Spring rolls with peanut sauce yummy! My favorite place for vegan dining in the South Bay (see my blog for photos.) tammy
Reviews: 112
  2009-04-29
4 out of 5 stars I am not a fan of the pho @ Merit, but the other menu items are really good. I love the pot stickers which come with a dipping sauce which is full of ginger. YUM. The place can get pretty crowded at lunch time, so you may want to get there early. Service is fast and friendly. Miss Cellophane
Reviews: 2
  2009-04-29
4.5 out of 5 stars This is the vegan restaurant I eat at most in the southbay. Very similar to Golden Era. I'm not sure about the "atmosphere", but the food is always great and consistent. Try the pho. eric
Reviews: 7
  2009-04-19
4 out of 5 stars Great place for lunch since they have several good items on their lunch special. Service is spotty (slow) but the waiters are always nice. http://veggiemonologues.blogspot.com/2007/09/merit-vegetarian.html VnV
Reviews: 2
  2008-11-01
5 out of 5 stars This is probably the best vegan restaurant in Sunnyvale/Santa Clara area. It has a great atmosphere, the Vietnamese fusion food is tasty, and though the prices are pretty low, it has an upscale feel. I took several of my omnivore coworkers and friends there and everybody liked the food. Some dishes I would recommend are pho, drum sticks, and lotus salad. Also, be sure to try the cakes. legoandy
Reviews: 6
  2008-09-05
5 out of 5 stars This place is great! I had a Lotus Salad and a Vermicelli with Egg Rolls, and they both tasted very good and they were both a generous serving size. Quality ingredients, good recipes and nice service. What more could you ask for? greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-08-17
5 out of 5 stars Very good quality food. Portions were more than adequate and food was quite healthy. I won't hesitate to go back here. Price was also reasonable! rekrabm
Reviews: 1
  2008-05-15
5 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the food, especially the lemon "chicken" that came with broccoli and lettuce and the spinach "ham" salad with avocado. Delicious! nelsoch
Reviews: 2
  2008-01-25
5 out of 5 stars The food is home cooked, traditional and very close to my Vietnamese grandmothers cooking. I look forward to the hot pot sour soup and the spring rolls each time I go there. It's wonderful authentic Vietnamese flavors. Service is fast and very friendly service. I also like the ambiance, it's right off 101, easy to find and good parking. It's the best for me so far. enjoyvegan
Reviews: 2
  2007-10-20
4.5 out of 5 stars Just opened Labor Day 2007. Friendly service and very clean! This place should quickly find its niche in the Bay Area, with tons of tasty choices which are mostly vegan. (The vegan Thai iced tea was a treat.) I personally loved the orange nuggets, reminescent of my favorite dish in Boston-- but I have a feeling there are plenty of amazing options waiting to be explored at this new restaurant. ltoplosk
Reviews: 1
  2007-09-13

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.