Reviews for Herbivore

Average rating:0 out of 5 stars 0 / 5.0 Based on 12 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4 out of 5 stars Love the bright, airy interior and good menu selection. Service is friendly, although too relaxed for my water-drinking comfort. VEGAN
Reviews: 1
  2012-01-08
3 out of 5 stars There is a broad selection of items, though some of them taste very similar. I agree with previous reviewers who find that the food quality is consistently good, but not great. Jon Spear
Reviews: 8
  2010-08-28
4.5 out of 5 stars Same broad menu as SF locations; superior location and interior. Easy access from BART. I highly recommend Herbivore for entertaining your omnivore friends. There are lots of old and new favorites on the menu, and most are excellent substitutes for their non-vegan counterpart. It's great to have a vegan brunch option. For a veg*n-only group I would probably choose something different. greg
Reviews: 133
  2010-06-28
3 out of 5 stars I always want to like Herbivore more than I actually like Herbivore. A few dishes shine but the rest are lackluster. Not bad, just boring. The shawarma used to be my favorite but they changed the chickn and the new brand tastes weird. The red curry dish is very good. They do have the double layer Black China German Chocolate Cake. Hard to find the double layer--worth a trip for just that! LolaBanana
Reviews: 17
  2010-03-30
4 out of 5 stars I like Herbivore just fine. There's nothing wrong with it. But there's nothing spectacular about it, either. I've never had anything that I hated and nothing I thought was stellar. Its all just...fine. Another way of saying that is that its hard to go wrong, almost everything is satiating and pleasant enough. cinnazimt
Reviews: 20
  2010-03-21
3.5 out of 5 stars I've come here twice now and tried the grilled "chicken" sandwich and the "beef" stroganoff. I liked the chicken sandwich but the stroganoff wasn't creamy and was bascially mushroom gravy with tons of pepper added. The beef strips tasted like Morning Star frozen beef strips which happen to not taste that great. Price is ok, food is ok, but service was very good. I'll give it one more shot... Deebingo
Reviews: 5
  2010-02-16
1.5 out of 5 stars I don't know what is with the whole Herbivore chain, but the service is worse than ever. And the food at this particular location tastes more bland than the other locations. After particulary bad service here and attempting to email the management and having it bounce I won't be returning. bunnygirl
Reviews: 18
  2009-09-06
5 out of 5 stars Herbivore took a really good thing from the SF locations and made it even better in Berkeley by having a superior decor that includes comfortable bench seating and a much quieter atmosphere (less loud music, which we old fogies appreciate). Generally faster service and the same good food from the SF location make for a winning combination. Parking is not the best; suggest taking bus or BART. Veggie247
Reviews: 8
  2007-12-11
5 out of 5 stars A friend and I went to Herbivore on first visit on Halloween. Though it was early afternoon, breakfast was still available. Our server was costumed as a caveman, humor with great service. I was also celebrating my birthday and was glad to do so there. Good food, good atmosphere, good cost. YES! I will be a regular! Treewizdom
Reviews: 1
  2007-11-14
4 out of 5 stars Really like this space better than SF locations. Packed on a Friday nite, so slow service. Food same as other locations.... New favorite is the grilled (soy) chicken sandwich.. it's good but tasted better at the Valencia location. Macaroni salad is great option too. tammy
Reviews: 113
  2007-11-04
4 out of 5 stars Food: Hit and miss. Sandwiches are large, some are tastier than others. Seasoned potatoes were undercooked. Generous portions. All-vegan is a plus. 3.5 Decor: More spacious than SF location. Nicely decorated. 4 Service: Fast service and prompt water refills. 4 Cost: Good value for the portions. Everything under $10. 4 Bryan
Reviews: 4
  2007-06-28
5 out of 5 stars The long-awaited arrival and opening of the East Bay's own Herbivore has happened. The interior is spacious, airy, light, with plenty of room between tables and a separate bar area with several stools. Hard liquor, wine and beer, creative coctails. The SF menu carries over to Berkeley. Service was fast, friendly, and efficient. A six block walk from Berkeley BART downtown, close to theaters. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2007-06-09

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.