Reviews for Cha-Ya

Average rating:0 out of 5 stars 0 / 5.0 Based on 16 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars Updating prior review. Excellent service, presentation, and flavor. Another terrific choice for vegans in SF--Cha Ya has successfully brought its fare across the bay and arrived in good shape. Seating is more accommodating of private conversations. Same tasty food. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2010-06-01
5 out of 5 stars so so yummy ! great service, nice people, delicious food. michaelscribner
Reviews: 1
  2010-04-08
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful cooked vegan food! Everything with subtle flavors that are *just right* and very tasty. One of my favorite restaurants. calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2010-01-07
0 out of 5 stars Horrible service! (We live inSan Jose- CA) me& my husband visited this place in SFO today for dinner, the customer service was worst. Asked 3 times for glass of water came after 3/4th the dinner was over, asked for fork at least 4times, the second order came 35 mins late,asked for spoon never came.Later when we left without paying any tip for worst service the owner ran after us to ask/beg for one zee
Reviews: 1
  2009-05-26
4 out of 5 stars I love knowing everything is vegan and there's no animal particles hidden in the food or shared cutting boards/knives. I recommend their sushi, seaweed salad, and tempura. Note - can be pricey. Unfortunately the only downside is the cost ... typically costs me ~$20 for dinner. Weekend lunch is great value - most of the same items from the dinner menu, and a bit cheaper! On my last two visits, service is still good but not stellar when compared to previous experiences (food takes longer to arrive or entree forgotten so they gave it to me for free) tammy
Reviews: 113
  2008-09-07
4.5 out of 5 stars With locations in Berkeley and San Francisco, Cha-Ya is a rare gem: a vegan Japanese restaurant with scrumptious food, impeccable service, and simple albeit beautiful design. While it is not inexpensive and the portions are generally not large (except for the soups, of which the wakame seaweed is my favorite), each bite is another delight. Itís my sonís favorite restaurant in the city! Dan
Reviews: 12
  2008-07-16
4 out of 5 stars I'm not into sushi (and barely into Japanese food), but I like this place because they have tons of other Japanese options, like noodle dishes. And of course, it's all vegan. All my friends, veg and non, have loved it. The wait can be quite long because the space is small, but it'll probably be worth it. meliae
Reviews: 15
  2008-02-18
4.5 out of 5 stars It's so nice to eat lunch in an all vegan restaurant! I'd recommend all the dishes I tried: the avocado roll was very good; the tempura was excellent, not oily like some others I've had, and it comes with rice and a really good soup as a first course; the ice cream sundae was a great end to a very enjoyable meal. kmeldrum
Reviews: 23
  2008-01-30
1 out of 5 stars I have been here many times and have always been completely underwhelmed. The prices are way too high for this quality of food. Sometimes one might find an appetizing item, but it's few and far between. And to be completely honest, compared to other sushi places in the area (minako) the sushi here is gross. atmosphere
Reviews: 6
  2008-01-29
4.5 out of 5 stars This place is great. The food comes out all at once sometimes, so I like to order an appetizer first and sometimes an extra sushi once we get our main course. Great service. The miso soup is delicious. Also it is nice to be able to order anything on the menu without asking "is that vegan?" pinkysf
Reviews: 7
  2007-08-06
2 out of 5 stars Agree, large menu, but I wish they'd focus on doing less dishes well and not lots of dishes mediocre. Flavoring is pretty bland, and many things tend to taste the same after awhile. Take cash, as they don't take credit cards. I prefer Minako just a few blocks away- tons of tasty vegan sushi and dishes (incl. homemade udon). Becca
Reviews: 39
  2006-12-26
4 out of 5 stars Big menu, but dishes can be bland. I prefer Minako, just a few blocks away for veggie sushi & Japanese cuisine, but Cha Ya has more seating, so its an excellent backup plan. tklarin
Reviews: 14
  2006-11-28
4 out of 5 stars It's great to have an all-vegan sushi place in SF! They have good food, but my friend and I (both vegan) kept comparing it to Minako, which is just a couple blocks away. We both like Minako better, but Cha-ya does deserve props for being all vegan. jennyw
Reviews: 2
  2006-07-29
5 out of 5 stars I'm so glad they opened in SF! My favorite Japanese restaurant ever. Much more room than in Berkeley. I'd also like the lights changed. I'm going there tonight! Cash only is annoying. PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2006-05-09
4 out of 5 stars Variety of delicious Japanese foods. Same menu as Berkeley. Pleasant and clean and service was good. Told they plan to open for lunches in a couple of months. Cash only for now. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2006-04-24
4.5 out of 5 stars Fantastic food and a great addition to the Valencia Vegan Corridor (TM). Menu looks identical to the Berkeley location, but the space is much bigger. Would be good if they could adjust/replace the over bright fluorescent lights. Definitely on my new fav list and will return soon and often. chris
Reviews: 79
  2006-04-24

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.