Reviews for Medicine New-Shojin Eatstation

Average rating:4.18 out of 5 stars 4.18 / 5.0 Based on 14 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars I definitely recommend making a reservation. Very trendy interior. Long rows of tables with benches (very similar to Wagamama in the UK). I had the clarity foundation set, which was excellent. Their savory peanut sauce is to die for. Great selection of hot and cold teas. Very loud atmosphere and not a lot of privacy, but great for lunch or an after work dinner. Excellent service. Dana
Reviews: 30
  2007-01-29
4 out of 5 stars Not the most amazing food I've ever had, but tasty and satisfying and I did enjoy my meal. They do have some unusual dishes and flavors that you don't get elsewhere, which I like. The menu is limited, which is fine, but just know that. But all dishes are healthy with high quality ingredients - my body felt good afterwards! The dining room is open and airy with stylish decor. I will go back again. kblue
Reviews: 16
  2007-01-05
5 out of 5 stars Awesome eating experience. Sophisticated decor and menu. Unusual dishes for adventurous eaters as well as some traditional items for more conventional appetites. Will definitely return. Pleasant service. A real treat. sue
Reviews: 5
  2006-12-08
4.5 out of 5 stars Excellent food, a nice decor and excellent service are the highlights of this traditional Japanese restaurant. Some sustainably harvested and recycled wood was used in the construction. Warren
Reviews: 37
  2006-07-23
2.5 out of 5 stars I would not return. I only ate there one time, but my meal was too salty & too oily. The portions were dainty and the check was astronomical. 100% long benches, no chairs: thus, no back support and no privacy from other parties. Servers pretentious. I was so buoyed that there was a new vegan restaurant downtown, and had high hopes, but then was sorely disappointed with the actual experience. Bonnie
Reviews: 8
  2006-07-18
4.5 out of 5 stars Very unique japanese food. Their seitan is flown in from Kyoto weekly. Impressive zen like, yet New Yorkish atmosphere. I'm defeinitely coming back. Pricey though... Froggyrocks
Reviews: 7
  2006-02-03
5 out of 5 stars Enjoyed an excellent dining experience -- top notch food, good service. Greatly appreciate the organic food quality. Highly recommend and will return. chris
Reviews: 82
  2005-12-23
4 out of 5 stars Tasty well-presented dishes, slightly on the small size in terms of portions. Beer, wine, and sake available. Pleasant dining area w/ attractive furnishings. I received excellent service @ lunch. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2005-12-14
4 out of 5 stars Expensive and rare ingrediants also equals HIGH HIGHER prices. An extra star for being bold and daring to have a restaurant like this. Was sitting next to 12 people who had a business expense acct. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2005-12-08
5 out of 5 stars Really fresh, well-seasoned food. For lunch, tried rice bowl served with pickled vegetables and miso soup, plus a yam croquette. For dinner, tried 3 .entrees: tempura, nijiri sushi (not as good as the Medicine Roll) and sweet dumpling squash. Good service. Very convenient to BART too. Beautiful decor, unusual cafeteria style seating. tammy
Reviews: 118
  2005-12-08
3.5 out of 5 stars The food was good and presented well. But the service was bad. They forgot the appetizer, and when we reminded the server, he forgot it again (we cancelled it eventually). ajay
Reviews: 5
  2005-12-03
4.5 out of 5 stars SF has needed a restaurant like this for a long time. The food is fresh and the preparations are simple, tasty and clean. A bit pricey for the portion sizes. Real, minimally processed healthy food. Soyboy
Reviews: 9
  2005-10-27
4.5 out of 5 stars Trendy yet friendly atmosphere; nice selection of sakes; perfect launching spot for a girl's night out or a satisfying (and not too heavy) dinner before a night of dancing. Try the Medicine Roll! calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2005-09-12
3 out of 5 stars Gorgeous decor, yummy food but pathetically small portions. Super expensive for portion size. Eat first elsewhere or go to Cha-Ya instead (bigger portions, better prices). Not at all a good value. veggiegrrrl
Reviews: 15
  2005-08-20

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.