Reviews for Cha-Ya

Average rating:4.36 out of 5 stars 4.36 / 5.0 Based on 22 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars I've probably had everything on the menu and I haven't disliked anything. Everything is delicious. I eat a lot of vegan/Buddhist Japanese food so this is "comfort" food for me and they do it well. Not good for big groups (really small place!) and there's frequently a line -- be sure to get there early. cinnazimt
Reviews: 20
  2010-03-21
0 out of 5 stars I went to Cha-Ya for lunch because of the reviews on this site. It was after the lunch rush so it was not crowded. No one would wait on me for a half an hour. The waitress barely spoke English and could not answer my questions about items on the menu. I just ordered a "clay pot" dish. The vegi's were way overcooked and so hot I had to wait another 15 minutes. The clay pot was "aluminum" Yuk! uridev
Reviews: 1
  2008-09-07
4.5 out of 5 stars Rule #1 - arrive at 5 to 5. At 5:01 PM on Wednesday 4 of the 5 tables were occupied, although the counter was still empty. Rule #2 - if you're hungry get a combination meal. The service was laid back but good. The food was good but not exciting (it is Buddhist inspired). I won't eat an $18 dinner every day, but this is a nice place for a change and 100% vegan is great. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-08-20
4.5 out of 5 stars Good food. Bit on the pricey side if you're hungry. Fast service. chris
Reviews: 80
  2008-06-02
5 out of 5 stars This is a fabulous restaurant - the food is creative and delicious, the prices are good, and it is vegan! My 9 year old daughter enjoyed the food and the fact that the serving style allows everyone to share their dishes. The full moon sushi plate is my favorite, but everything I have tried I have enjoyed. terryvshaw
Reviews: 5
  2007-06-13
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful food and a great restaurant. Small in size but great atmosphere. I enjoyed eating here. Be prepared to wait in a long line out the door during dinner. xbillyx
Reviews: 6
  2007-05-09
5 out of 5 stars I *love* Cha-Ya! The food is excellent! I especially adore Moon Garden (essential every visit) and the stuffed eggplant. I've tried many other dishes too and found them to all be very good. I have taken omnivores here who love it as much as I, and a few who found it bland. Downside is that the Berkeley venue is very small and doesn't take reservations. spiffydog
Reviews: 5
  2007-04-15
5 out of 5 stars Finally vegan sushi without the worries. I cannot give enough enthusiasm through type. EVERYTHING is delectible here. I have tried many things and have no particular recommendation.. try it all (though I regularily order the hangetsu as an appetizer...mmmmm) Such a beautiful array of japanese vegetables and squash. Very small place, but warm smiles and service. Definitely a must for everyone! alithiav
Reviews: 3
  2006-12-26
5 out of 5 stars Outstanding super-delicious and creative vegan food, helpful service, reasonable prices given the good ingredients and the attention to detail. The baked pear dessert is pure heaven. Only drawback is a long wait to be seated (it's small), but totally worth the wait. Bonnie
Reviews: 8
  2006-07-18
5 out of 5 stars Best veg sushi ever. This place rocks. It's small, and there's often a bit of a wait, but SO worth it. rabbit
Reviews: 4
  2006-04-15
5 out of 5 stars Creative, tasty, colorful, vegan, great service. A gem of a vegan restaurant. I recommend the senroppan salad, three bean soup, and hosomaki avocado reverse rolls. San Francisco branch coming soon. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2006-04-10
5 out of 5 stars So yummy, so pretty. I took my parents here and they loved it, even thought they're not vegetarians. Frozen
Reviews: 2
  2006-04-01
3 out of 5 stars The food was pretty good though not extraordinary....a bit lifeless..... Kafkadesk
Reviews: 3
  2006-02-20
5 out of 5 stars Incredible vegan sushi. Little works of art that are as delicious as they are beautiful. Jeff
Reviews: 5
  2005-12-19
4.5 out of 5 stars Their best secret dish, shhh, is their miso soup. http://essenes.net/new/veganshojin.html http://web-japan.org/nipponia/nipponia2/sp04.html do a google image on shojin ryori beautiful displays sunny
Reviews: 81
  2005-12-06
3.5 out of 5 stars Good Food! Love the fried avocado sushi! It can get crowded, so be prepared to wait for a table. Not good for a large group. Also pretty expensive if you want to leave the restaurant not feeling hungry. tammy
Reviews: 115
  2005-09-18
4 out of 5 stars Delcious food and lots of variety. Highly recommend getting there before they open L/D & putting name on list to avoid long waits. Nice explanation of "vegan" food right on the front of their menu. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2005-08-26
5 out of 5 stars My favorite. Worth the wait. Lunch is a super value! Far better than Medicine Eatstation (SF) in terms of price and portion size! veggiegrrrl
Reviews: 15
  2005-08-21
5 out of 5 stars This place rocks my socks. Kaiseki (Japanese vegetarian) Cuisine cheaper than at restaurants in Kyoto. Try the Cha-Ya roll. My favorite restaurant, period. MKatz
Reviews: 1
  2005-03-12
4 out of 5 stars Stick with the sushi dishes for the tastiest food--some of the custard bowls have an odd texture. Nice tea selection. Be prepared for loooooong wait and fairly high prices! grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-09-07
5 out of 5 stars Excellent food, beautifully prepared. Can be a BIG wait; then all the food comes at once. But I love this place! Large variety of foods PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2004-05-21
3 out of 5 stars Boutique eating at boutique prices. Good for a special night out. Regina
Reviews: 2
  2004-05-11

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.