Reviews for New World Vegan

Average rating:4.2 out of 5 stars 4.2 / 5.0 Based on 25 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars Very nice wait staff who helped set up tables to our specifications for a large group. Best pad Thai I think I've ever had. Pancakes appetizer too oily but most ordered looked good. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2008-09-22
4 out of 5 stars I was really enjoying New World (typically there once a month) until my visit earlier this month... they served rice that tasted like I always imagined cardboard would. It was awful. How can an asian restaurant ruin rice?! I was with friends so didn't want to hassle with sending it back. Aside from that isolated experience, typically I enjoy the food, well-seasoned. Usually good sized portions. tammy
Reviews: 114
  2008-09-21
5 out of 5 stars Still at the top of my list for vegan cuisine in the East Bay. I had the tofu ranchero stir fry with black beans, rice, salsa fresca, guacamole, and warm tortillas. One of the East Bay's finest vegan restaurants, with delicious creative dishes, tall ceilings and a spacious attractive dining area & friendly service. Owners committed to veganism for animals, health, and environment. Great place. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2008-07-24
5 out of 5 stars A very nice vegan restaurant (and affordable!). The deco is pretty modern (quite and spacious). The food is very delicious. My favorite dish is the Spicy Thai Fish (SUPER tasty). It has two choices of noodle soups and they are all great. I usually order Lilly Rolls for the appetizers. Itís warm and non-fried. You cannot miss this appetizer. Seeing believing. Just go and try it. peace414
Reviews: 3
  2008-07-16
5 out of 5 stars Had a faux chicken burrito here yesterday and it was great comfort food. It's not cheap, but it's not really expensive either and you've got to pay for quality and variety. Open minded omnivore friends of mine have been happy here too, because the food is very filling and familiar (but more characterful than Herbivore) and there are good desserts too! Did I mention it's just 4 blocks from BART? greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-06-20
4 out of 5 stars Everything I've had here has been good. They have a large selection of vegan dishes. I especially like their variety of vegan desserts. kmeldrum
Reviews: 23
  2008-01-27
1.5 out of 5 stars Overpriced & In-authentic. The Feijoada was nothing more than over-salty black bean soup and veggie hot dog slices with diced tomato and onion garnish. Too bad they didn't put in bay leaves, cumin or other traditional spices to make it less bland. The Gumbo was a salty brown soup that tasted like turkey stuffing. The brown rice was mealy. Only the sauteed greens, a cheap/free side dish, were good. sodajunkie
Reviews: 3
  2007-07-16
4.5 out of 5 stars This is probably my favorite veg restaurant in the Bay Area. Gleaming hardwood floors, cloth napkins, friendly and efficient waitstaff, and a wide varietey of tasty veg dishes. Like others, I especially like the broccoli shiitake as well as the bird's nest, a lovely dish with a latticed "nest" made of potato. I brought a group of meat-eaters here for a meeting and they all loved it. 'Nuff said! janismara
Reviews: 1
  2007-07-02
4.5 out of 5 stars I went to NW Veg for a New Years Eve brunch. HUGE portions - very well priced for the amount of food you get. I don't like meat, so I was a little scared to order dishes containing fake meat - was fearful it would taste like meat (hate the taste, texture, etc of meat) but was pleasantly surprised. Great ambiance, service, and very nice eating experience. Vegan cake rocked too! Loved it all! Meghann
Reviews: 9
  2007-01-04
5 out of 5 stars Though I have been there many times I only get one thing. The New World Clay Pot is so scrumptious that I can't get myself to order something else. BUT I always bring different friends and all have commented on how good everything was, from the garlick black bean to the tamales. And always excellent service. Highly recommend you try! alithiav
Reviews: 3
  2006-12-26
5 out of 5 stars This restaurant offers a unique variety of dishes. I am always pleased with the quality of the food and would encourage friends to dine there as well. I have tried a variety of dishes and have never been disappointed. Garlic Chow Fun and the Bird's Nest are my favorites. Kris
Reviews: 1
  2006-11-21
0 out of 5 stars I went to New World a few weeks ago with a friend, who really liked the place. We ordered soup and two entrees. Both of us were extremely dissatisfied with the food. The soup tasted like water. We had an eggplant dish and the eggplant could not have been any more bland, it tasted like an overboiled potato. The final item we tried was not any better, it was a clay pot dish, awful. Dana
Reviews: 30
  2006-11-16
5 out of 5 stars Love this place. Ate with a big group and we split about 10 dishes and I loved all of them but 1. Especially liked the Chicken Cacciatore. Very nice decor and parking wasn't too bad. Melissa
Reviews: 18
  2006-10-07
4.5 out of 5 stars BEST VEGAN CAKES (do not leave without trying)!!! The food is great and the portions are large. The fake chicken is chewy but the fake fish is divine. The Lotus Salad is higly recommended. TiannaSheehan
Reviews: 3
  2006-04-24
5 out of 5 stars i love this restaurant! the food is delicious, service is friendly and excellent. the menu is very diverse and sure to satisfy all tastes and moods. the price is right and so is the divine vegan cake! eileenmmello
Reviews: 3
  2006-01-02
5 out of 5 stars Best veg restaurant in the Bay Area. Superb b-b-q chicken; bird's nest; broccoli shiitake and, of course, Black China cakes. Very friendly service; beautiful floors and tables. 3 blocks from BART! Veggie247
Reviews: 8
  2005-12-10
5 out of 5 stars Excellent vegan food with creative dishes, international cuisine and friendly service. Very convenient to downtown Oakland. rons22
Reviews: 3
  2005-11-22
4.5 out of 5 stars Eclectic and tasty mix of Asian and European dishes. Vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike love it. Only suggestion - rotate some of the regular menu dishes for us repeat customers. sjotoku
Reviews: 6
  2005-11-21
5 out of 5 stars Nice decor, friendly waitstaff, right by Oakland 12st BART. Gumbo with collard greens & brown rice was excellent! Also loved the "healthy rice" clay pot. Amazingly decadent vegan desserts. Yummmay! calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2005-10-08
4 out of 5 stars Iím not a fan of fake meat products, which they use a lot. But they do have a number of dishes without. The claypots are very tasty. My non-veg friends enjoyed it as well. kblue
Reviews: 16
  2005-09-12
3 out of 5 stars Good honest food, friendly service and really nice decor. chris
Reviews: 80
  2005-08-02
5 out of 5 stars Thai fusion recipes w/ pseudo meats. Thai cuisine meets Chinese Noodles and California's brown rice. Green Jade is a wonderful dish. Nice restaurant interior- love the unique floor. Large nice kitchen mike
Reviews: 10
  2005-01-12
5 out of 5 stars Great food. The Thai "Fish" was very tasty. I also had the Tom Yum soup which was good as well. We also ordered the New World Clay Pot which was quite excellent. I would definetly go again. Zymee
Reviews: 1
  2004-12-31
4 out of 5 stars Very good food here, extensive menu, nice decor. funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2004-06-02
2 out of 5 stars The bbq chicken is the only dish I've liked & we've tried going there 5 times, since others love it. Everything tastes Asian-influenced, even fajitas! Slow service, but great atmosphere. Good dessert! grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.