Reviews for Herbivore

Average rating:3.97 out of 5 stars 3.97 / 5.0 Based on 17 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars Herbivore has a huge menu with an eclectic mix of American comfort food and ethnic dishes from around the world. & they have fabulous vegan breakfasts! I don't understand why there's a hellacious line outside Boogaloos every weekend morning & plenty of empty seats at Herbivore. The only bad thing I ever ordered was the wasabi noodles. I couldn't finish, and I'm OCD about finishing my plate! calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2010-01-07
2.5 out of 5 stars Tried the new "beef" dishes. Stroganoff and cheese steak sandwich, which were quite good IMHO. However, the service here just seems to have taken a nose dive. After a bad experience at the Berkeley location and watching our food sit on the counter for 10 minutes while the waitress chatted up her friends, I don't think Herbivore needs my business any more. bunnygirl
Reviews: 18
  2009-09-06
3.5 out of 5 stars Love that everything here is vegan. Food is generally good, although sometimes it's just okay. Service or rather the lack of it can be an issue. Macaroni or potato salad instead of fries is welcome addition (typically weekday circa 5 pm they are serving reheated fries). Generally good: zaatar, spring rolls, breakfast burrito, portabello mushroom sandwich. Avoid the macaroni & cheese (it's pasta with a orange-colored sauce, not the traditional casserole & not very good.) Bundle up warm if you're eating in the winter - door doesn't close well. Heard they have space heaters but there weren't any when I was there last week and both staff and other customers were leaving the door open. I rarely dine here in the winter because that annoyance ruins the enjoyment of eating out. tammy
Reviews: 114
  2009-01-24
4 out of 5 stars I love Herbivore, it is one of the places I make special effort to go to when I drive up from the Peninsula. One thing I love is the complete American melting pot take on vegan food. There are foods representing many cultures, including some American favorites, done in a vegan style. My fave at the moment is the soy shwarma. I give it 4 because of decor, which is cold and not comforting. SusieG
Reviews: 4
  2008-10-22
4.5 out of 5 stars Herbivore is a beautifully-designed restaurant, though informal and inviting. Fully vegan, it also tries to use organic ingredients whenever possible. It has an eclectic menu, including grilled vegetables, salads, tacos and burritos, pad thai, pasta dishes, homemade veggie and tempeh burgers, falafel, yummy dipping sauces, smoothies, juices, wines, and much more, all at very reasonable prices. Dan
Reviews: 12
  2008-07-16
4.5 out of 5 stars Lots of choices, most of which are basic but satisfying. 100% vegan restaurants are liberating ... Excellent choice for dining with your omnivore friends who like standard menu items, as the large menu has something for everyone. A few years ago I thought the service was mediocre, but today it was excellent - either they improved their hiring or I got lucky. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-06-01
3.5 out of 5 stars Good vegan food, but not GREAT food. A great range of options but it's hard not to notice the fact that if I were cooking I'd make each of these dishes a bit more tasty. Perth
Reviews: 1
  2007-12-14
4 out of 5 stars Good breakfast. Great vegan crepes and AWESOME vegan milkshakes!!! Wasn't busy at all at 10 am on Columbus Day. vanveg
Reviews: 4
  2006-10-13
4 out of 5 stars I love coming here for brunch. My husband and I share the French toast, breakfast potatoes, and the "chicken" soy shwarma. Their fresh-squeezed OJ is wonderful. It's the perfect brunch! If you're there for dinner, definitely try the shwarma. Downside: If it's too busy, service can be pretty bad. Also, music can be too loud, but we've asked them to turn it down and they oblige. smhaws
Reviews: 3
  2006-09-25
4.5 out of 5 stars We stopped going to Herbivore because the service was so poor (and rude!) and the food not that great, but friends convinced us to try again, and they are right-things have improved! Nice, friendly service (not fast, but not bad) and really yummy food! All three of us loved our entrees. Excellent portions. "Chicken" Schwarma ++ sue
Reviews: 5
  2006-09-10
4.5 out of 5 stars I particularly liked a special on the board this evening, a veggie "chicken" shwarma, including the usual potato, avocado, pickles, etc. Very tasty. I've always been satisfied with the service here. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2006-06-18
4 out of 5 stars Parking lot 1/2 block away if no st. parking. Good rice & beans, breakfasts. Many friends like portabello sandwich but find too oily. They will do substitutions. Noisy. Uneven. Upgraded decor. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2005-09-12
4 out of 5 stars Love sauteed mushrooms, roasted corn and brushetta. Portabello mushroom sandwich is good too. Green salads and noodle dishes turn me off. Waitstaff is friendly. Don't go if you're in a rush. veg4life
Reviews: 22
  2005-05-29
4 out of 5 stars Good restaurant, for the sandwiches and desserts. I haven't really enjoyed the regular entrees. piou
Reviews: 3
  2005-01-06
2 out of 5 stars Despite the positive words I kept hearing about Herbivore, I found it only a passable veg restaurant. The food was not particularly tasty or flavorful, and it seemed to want to mimic non-veg food voivod2000
Reviews: 1
  2004-08-26
5 out of 5 stars My favorite restaurant in the Bay Area. Love the pesto ravioli and desserts. Occasional visiting musicians can be a bit noisy but they add to that Mission flavor. funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2004-06-02
4 out of 5 stars Great sandwiches. If you're hungry the best deal is probably the basil linguine or the baked falafel. Service could be better. chris
Reviews: 80
  2004-05-07

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.