Reviews for Millennium

Average rating:4.39 out of 5 stars 4.39 / 5.0 Based on 35 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars My first visit. Celebrating three months as a vegan. Pretty much floored by excellence, creativity, complex tastes, excellent service. No compromises on quality. Strongly commend and recommend. KimMcCall
Reviews: 1
  2011-03-27
4.5 out of 5 stars This upscale all-vegan dining establishment has really refined the concept of vegan dining to a new high. Well-thought out and deliciously executed. Impeccable service, too. Can be very noisy and some tables are too close. tammy
Reviews: 118
  2010-08-29
5 out of 5 stars Went to Millennium for the last night of our honeymoon. It was an amazing experience. The staff were incredibly friendly, polite and helpful. The food was beyond anything I could have imagined: the menu changes regularly, the flavours were complex and varied, the quantities were very reasonable and the presentation was fabulous. Very highly recommended for any special occasion, big or small. jdg
Reviews: 2
  2009-08-10
5 out of 5 stars Went to Millennium for my birthday last week and was very impressed, as usual. They were offering the Summer Solstice menu, which consisted of four amazing and luxurious courses. I had the tamale entree and it was incredible. The dessert was a coconut cream and blueberry compote parfait, which melts in your mouth. Cucumber margarita was a surprisingly tasty treat. Dana
Reviews: 30
  2009-06-22
4.5 out of 5 stars This is the place where my steady boyfriends take me out to dinner. My favorite entree is the Seitan. Their ice cream is always good but their chocolate is too sweet for me. I get so happy sit at this busy restaurant filled with so many meat-eating customer. I wish I can spread the forumula to all vegetarian restaurant. It is not a perfect restauran cause I can't afford to go there every day. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2009-05-04
5 out of 5 stars The food here is stellar and so amazing. The flavor combinations Chef Tucker creates are consistently delicious, original, and complex. Their menu is seasonal, and the quality of ingredients is impeccable. The food and experience is well worth the cost. There is no other like it, and vegans are fortunate to have this option. $5 burritos are great, but I want something nice once in a while. dviolet
Reviews: 15
  2009-01-04
4.5 out of 5 stars You pay for the ambience and service as much as for the food, but for the occasional "fancy" night out, you can't beat Millinnium. The location is pretty central unlike, say, Green's, if that's a factor (i.e., near shops, shows, movies). fedora
Reviews: 9
  2008-08-21
5 out of 5 stars This restaurant is vegans' answer to Chez Panisse, and priced accordingly. Judging it on price compared to ordinary restaurants is pointless. Come here for special occasions or to show your non-vegan friends that vegan food need not be boring or basic or limited. I enjoyed excellent food and attentive service when eating here and my omnivore gourmet colleague was impressed too. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-08-20
3.5 out of 5 stars Prices even higher since last visit. Small food menu, huge drink menu, nice presentation, good service. Creative? Yes. Awesome? No. Very small portions for the entrees. For overall dining satisfaction I'd still prefer a three item veggie combo plus rice and salad from Wazwan Indian Restaurant at the Emeryville Public Market for $5.95 plus tax. Our Millennium check was $560.00 for 11 people. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2008-06-25
5 out of 5 stars This is the best restaurant ever. Even non-veg culinary snobs I know have loved it, you can really take anyone there (as long as they can afford it, I guess). Honestly, though, it's not that expensive for this town, esp if you're just getting an entree yourself, it's about $25. And it is totally worth it. Incredibly delicious and creative. The waiters are v. knowledgeable, good w/recommendations. meliae
Reviews: 15
  2008-02-18
5 out of 5 stars Mushroom season (winter rains) is an amazing time to go to Millenium! Mmmm. In general, everything I have ever had there has been sublimely delicious. Usually my choice for my birthday dinners or other special occasions. I took my veg mother (from Alabama) there for Mother's Day brunch and she was truly overjoyed. Can't find food like that in Alabama... or anywhere! Great wine pairings, too. stella
Reviews: 8
  2007-04-08
4.5 out of 5 stars LVOED the ambiance, the service - did the Aphrodisiac package w/ hotel night. AWESOME - PRICEY but a nice romantic splurge. Hotel was nice too! Everything was just wonderful except the TOKA parking garage the restaurant/hotel suggested us use. They relocated my car to an unknown location & my car had a long black scratch on the passenger side. I will file a claim against the parking garage. Meghann
Reviews: 9
  2007-02-20
5 out of 5 stars Gourmet food, that also happens to be vegan. Nice selection & variety. Nice drink menu. Our waiter was attentive & very friendly. Really enjoyed this meal. Dishes prepared such that non-veg people will enjoy it as well - meaning a well thought out menu. Some dishes of course were more interesting than others but all were good. Expensive (worth it), but will definitely come for special occasions. kblue
Reviews: 16
  2006-10-27
5 out of 5 stars We celebrated my husband's birthday at Millenium during their monthly Aphrodisiac night. We agree it was the best meal we have ever eaten. Each morsel was euphoric! Service was wonderful. While making the reservation I mentioned that it would be my husband's birthday. Our waitress brought the dessert with a birthday candle in it! Even though we live in Canada we will be back someday... vanveg
Reviews: 4
  2006-10-13
5 out of 5 stars Full-Moon Aphrodisiac theme meal was delicious and very well presented. The 5:30 seating had wonderful service. We gave the entrees ratings of 8,9,10,9,8. Creative menu that made us want to learn to make the dishes. A lot of prep went into the meal. This is a theme date to take your special sweetie. Present him or her w/a red rose while sipping the love potion and you'll bring a smile. mike
Reviews: 10
  2006-08-14
2 out of 5 stars Took my mom for the Mother's Day brunch and it was very disappointing. The service was very slow, the food portions were small and didn't have much flavor. The best thing was the little, and I mean "little" plate of bakery appetizers. They were great, but tiny portions and no seconds. We went here for the brunch several years ago and it was wonderful. They need to go back to their roots a bit. carolroars
Reviews: 7
  2006-07-03
2.5 out of 5 stars not good enough for the price. Rocker
Reviews: 3
  2006-02-02
5 out of 5 stars Superb & in a class all its own. The place carnivore friends (sigh) are HAPPY to eat. So healthy, desserts are almost guilt-free. Bay Area's best fine dining choice. Great service too. ddgattina
Reviews: 1
  2006-01-02
5 out of 5 stars This is vegan "fine" dining at its finest. The food is creative, so it doesn't always succeed, but usually fabulous. If you want a luxurious night out, where you don't worry about price, this is it! Thea
Reviews: 2
  2005-10-24
3 out of 5 stars I tried Milennium once; paid $200 for dinner for four, and we weren't exactly oohing and ahhing over our food. The waitstaff were inattentive, and our food took forever to arrive. Still, it was OK. calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2005-09-12
5 out of 5 stars I've been going to Millennium since they were over in the Abigail. It was and is a wonderful place. Skilled staff, freshest ingredients, scrumptious pairings. Comapassionate fine dining. vegirl
Reviews: 1
  2005-08-14
3.5 out of 5 stars Great if you want to dress up and have a fancy night out, but over priced and over rated. Sad to say I know, but people get all defensive about this public symbol of veganism in the bay area. I used to really love Millennium, but over the year’s subtle changes and higher prices, make it hard to justify spending $50+ a head. The yummy appetizer spread is no more, as well as the signature Napoleons and Millennium 'steak' entrees. Bottom line, the food is good but not as good as it used to be. chris
Reviews: 82
  2005-08-03
5 out of 5 stars Delicious soups and desserts.Seasonal menu. Like their winter (and late fall, early spring) menu which has winter squashes and more chocolate dessert options. Still my favorite restaurant. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 63
  2005-08-02
3 out of 5 stars Cold, awkward hotel-lobby feel, the dishes we tried varied from medicore to phenomenal. Too pricey - and risky with the mediocre dishes - to go often. kalistys
Reviews: 4
  2005-06-06
3 out of 5 stars Solid, but unspectacular fare. A bit overhyped, but pleasant surroundings add to the element. The service can be diffident at times, but they get such a crowd there, I can guess they can afford that. sfbayfoodie
Reviews: 2
  2005-02-08
5 out of 5 stars Truly great restaurant, probably my favorite in the Bay Area. I go there on special occasions: prices are too high to go more often. Food is very elegantly presented, and delicious. jkzawilski
Reviews: 4
  2004-12-23
3 out of 5 stars Almost everything on the menu has garlic in it. BUT they said if I call ahead of time they can make me a special meal. I will return for the dessert though! Baincl
Reviews: 16
  2004-10-07
4 out of 5 stars The food here is always superb - unlike any other restaurant - very tasty and creative. Worth the price. Drawback: service can be bad sometimes. Desserts are always great and atmosphere is pleasant. laurie
Reviews: 3
  2004-08-31
5 out of 5 stars High end food worth the price. I bought the cook book and couldn't even begin to make what they offer. The labor alone is worth the price..and it ain't cheap. I've never been less than delighted. ThinkGreen
Reviews: 3
  2004-07-21
5 out of 5 stars This place is always excellent. The menu has changed since the last time I was there, but still just as good. For dessert-warm chocolate cake with melted chocolate in the middle-delicious!!! kit
Reviews: 7
  2004-07-19
5 out of 5 stars A special-occasion (or anytime!) restaurant. Very elegant/chic. Your non-veggie friends will enjoy themselves here. Their specialty nights (e.g., southern cooking) are a treat. kitzcatzhatz
Reviews: 20
  2004-07-17
5 out of 5 stars Entrees were a bit complicated - too many flavors in each dish. But still tasty and the dssert was AMAZING! I had bread pudding with huckleberry ice cream. Wish we could afford to go more often. PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2004-06-17
4 out of 5 stars A must-visit restaurant (when I can afford it!), but I find the entrees to be a bit overly complex for my tastes. I prefer the simpler salads and appetizers. The desserts are amazing. funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2004-06-02
4 out of 5 stars The food snob in me rejoices every time I go to Millennium! They use a lot of organic items & they usually have a raw item on the menu. Their bland specialty elixirs & cocktails are the only letdown. grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24
5 out of 5 stars This is vegan fine dining at it's best. Creative, delicious, elegant food, tasteful atmosphere & great service. Superb! Warren
Reviews: 37
  2004-05-21

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.