login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:3.22 out of 5 stars 3.22 / 5.0 Based on 9 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4 out of 5 stars I called them with questions. A waitress said they don't use fish sauce, shrimp paste, or any other ingredients from animals, and they never used those in the past. She heard that some customers say they used those things, she doesn't know why they say that. I don't know what to think now. It's hard to sort this out. jordanrothstein
Reviews: 5
  2011-05-27
0 out of 5 stars I ate there once when I thought it was all vegan. I've since found out that there is shrimp paste in some dishes and I may have consumed it. One dish did taste fishy to me and I didn't like that dish, but sea veggies, osyter mushrooms, etc. taste fishy to me; I thought that was it. I will not be dining there again. I do not trust this restaurant. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2011-03-15
2.5 out of 5 stars The food I had here was delicious, the staff was friendly, and the atmosphere was pleasant. Please note that at one point it was discovered that they were using shrimp paste in a few of their dishes however I have since confirmed with a member of the waitstaff that they are no longer using shrimp paste as of 3/7/11 Warren
Reviews: 37
  2011-03-08
0 out of 5 stars I ate there when they said they were "all vegan". I thought it was only okay so I didn't post a review. Now I've learned that customers have been telling them that their dishes with "shrimp paste" are not vegetarian, but they continue to use the sauce and tell people the dishes are vegetarian. When I called them yesterday, they said those dishes (with shrimp paste) are still vegetarian but not vegan. I also told them those curry dishes using the sauce with shrimp paste are not vegetarian, and to remove the dishes from their menu, if they wish to remain as a vegetarian restaurant. No apparent active owner/management. Sigh....... tammy
Reviews: 114
  2011-03-01
3.5 out of 5 stars I've been here several times. Its standard Thai fare, nothing special but worth a visit to be sure there's no fish sauce. Tasty appetizers. Almost everything has tofu. I usually leave with a greasy feeling unless I stick to the cucumber salad and fresh coconut :-( cinnazimt
Reviews: 20
  2010-03-21
4.5 out of 5 stars No reference to fake meat dish names on menu. Friendly and efficient service, good location for BART riders. I liked the yellow curry tofu dish with potato and broccoli, and the green papaya salad. Reasonable prices and portion sizes. Looking forward to returning to taste other menu items soon. A good addition to downtown Berkeley's veg restaurant scene. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2010-01-09
4.5 out of 5 stars I've had a lunch & a dinner (with a friend). Both were great, and when I asked for spicy in the little bit of Thai I know, they got it right and I didn't have to ask for chili powder. Corn cakes are light and tasty, fried taro a bit weird. Curries are very yummy if a bit on the salty side, but I like 'em that way. Service is very, very friendly. niklinna
Reviews: 1
  2009-12-31
5 out of 5 stars I've eaten lunch and dinner here already, and both were excellent. They have dishes ranging from mild (think Buddhist) to spicy. The food is fresh tasting and healthy too, and the atmosphere and people are pleasant. Great place to stop at before Berkeley Rep. Plus they have beer and wine! Second best Thai food I ever had (best is 7500 mi away in Sydney AU). Go now and review; they belong in top 10 greg
Reviews: 133
  2009-12-28
5 out of 5 stars We just went today (12/23/09) for lunch, and though they've just open the food and service were terrific! We started with the fresh rolls, and they were filled with crunch goodness. We also had a pad thai and a red curry -- both delicious. We asked for the curry extra spicy and it was. They brought us hot tea (no charge). Let's help keep this place in business! francie
Reviews: 8
  2009-12-23

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.