login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:3.59 out of 5 stars 3.59 / 5.0 Based on 27 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars I love this place and haven't had any problems with service, which is important, since I've come here before going to the theater. One of the friends I brought here said something to the effect of, "If I could eat like this every day, I wouldn't mind being vegetarian." There are many tasty choices on the menu, and I think the prices are very fair. Vita
Reviews: 2
  2010-06-06
2 out of 5 stars A lot of the food seems thrown together without care (to me). The one exception is the Vietnamese crepe. Food is okay, but overpriced. There are too many other veg options to put up with the service (or lack thereof) at Golden Era. bunnygirl
Reviews: 18
  2010-05-18
3 out of 5 stars Generally I like the food at Golden Era (I'm a fan of the faux meats), but the indifference/lack of service by wait staff is so frustrating and a big spoiler for me for an enjoyable meal. But if you don't mind not having water while you eat or constantly asking/reminding wait staff, you'll be okay. Recently, we picked a specific dish because it was described as having chinese broccoli and mushrooms. It arrived with regular broccoli and the equivalent of 1 mushroom cut into 4 small pieces. tammy
Reviews: 115
  2008-09-22
4.5 out of 5 stars This is where my vegan partner wanted to be taken for his birthday! An enormous selection of vegan Chinese food. fedora
Reviews: 9
  2008-08-21
5 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for a vege meal in the Tenderloin. I've eaten here several times and always enjoyed the food. Service has been excellent last few times. It seems a lot of the customers are not vegetarian, but just come for the good healthy food. Beware that it is a sketchy neighborhood, although I have never been bothered by the "locals" on the street. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-08-20
4.5 out of 5 stars The food is so delicious and we have brought many people, veg and non-veg, all of whom have enjoyed it and asked to go back. With various soups, appetizers, tofu and gluten dishes, there’s more than enough for everyone to enjoy themselves. Set in a beautiful, old, large room, it is like an oasis once you are in. Dodgy neighborhood, steps to get in, no alcohol allowed. Dan
Reviews: 12
  2008-07-16
3 out of 5 stars I've been twice, and food has been ok but not fantastic. I guess the only draw is that it's all vegetarian Chinese food, so quite a novelty. I'll go back probably because it's close to where I live and decent for staving off a sweet-and-sour craving. But, if you can get out of the city, I highly recommend trying the incredible Garden Fresh chinese veg place in Mountain View instead. meliae
Reviews: 15
  2008-02-18
4 out of 5 stars I liked the food! Appreciated the leaflets and veg literature around the restaurant! My hubby & I really liked our meals. Bummed that they told me they had cherry vegan ice cream and when she went to check, they didn't have ANY ice cream left. Service was ok. Food tasted fresh, place looked clean, we will definitely go again! Meghann
Reviews: 9
  2007-02-20
3.5 out of 5 stars Good food, but not the greatest area to be walking around at night. I really liked their pan fried vegetable chowfun and tay-ho rolls. Service isn't that great, servers weren't attentive. Dana
Reviews: 30
  2007-01-29
4 out of 5 stars Not much to look at from the outside, but very tasty food at a reasonable price. Asked the waitress what was good and she recommended the Bun Hue Noodles ($5.95 - Tofu, soy protein, gluten, bean sprouts & noodle in spicy veggie broth). Also ordered Teriyaki veggie-Salmon $9.95. Ordered takeout and it was ready in 10 minutes flat! They even provide fresh bean sprouts and basil in a ziplock bag! vanveg
Reviews: 4
  2006-10-13
3 out of 5 stars Most everything is faux meats; even their "tofu and veggies" is meat like. If you don't enjoy that, or even if you do, one delcious choice is the tofu and spinach soup. Unusual atmosphere for a veggie restaurant: kind of an old world feeling. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2006-07-20
0 out of 5 stars This WAS my favorite place, until I saw a bunch of HUGE dead roaches on the floor! They must've just sprayed, but how GROSS. Update: A friend went and had a roach climbing up his LEG. I kid you not. rabbit
Reviews: 4
  2006-04-15
5 out of 5 stars This is one of my favorite restaurants, period. Everything I have had there is fantastic. My faves are Bhudda Bun, Carmelized "Chicken", Lemon "Chicken" and the Avocado Smoothie! Best fake meats. sfguitarist
Reviews: 10
  2006-04-11
4 out of 5 stars Yum! (Paid) parking next door. Sketchy neighborhood. Inexpensive.Agree that the sweet and sour "chicken" is yummy. Also like the soup. Appeared clean to me. abster
Reviews: 7
  2006-02-09
4.5 out of 5 stars love the fake meats. sweet and sour chicken, the veggie bun and the drumsticks are my favorites. Food is delivered quickly. Only thing I don't like is the sketchy area. But its worth the risk! Rocker
Reviews: 3
  2006-02-02
3 out of 5 stars Old-fashioned decor with a menu that wouldn't be characterized as innovative or inspirational, but it's a vegetarian restaurant located DOWNTOWN (where I live), and for that, I'm very thankful! calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2005-09-12
4 out of 5 stars Imagine an Asian restaurant with a huge 3-page menu full of all kinds of yummy things, and they're all vegetarian. kitzcatzhatz
Reviews: 20
  2004-12-02
5 out of 5 stars my favorites are curry potatoes, carmelized chicken (for my meat eating friends), Soup with noodles, mango shake, made with fresh mangos,(ask to make the shake vegan style.) sunny
Reviews: 81
  2004-09-30
0 out of 5 stars The food is doused in sweet & sour sauce and the meat substitutes have terrible texture! Service is slow and the staff is unfriendly. Parking is terrible and in a bad neighbourhood. zoochryss
Reviews: 5
  2004-09-29
2 out of 5 stars Good selection of meat substitutes, but the food is rather bland, not very memorable. In my opinion, not really worth the visit when there are so many other places around. emmapeel415
Reviews: 2
  2004-06-26
5 out of 5 stars My favorite place to go for lunch. One #48 with brown rice please. tklarin
Reviews: 14
  2004-06-20
5 out of 5 stars Great food. Faves: #46(full entree), #48, and eggplant clay pot. Soups are all good, and they serve brown rice. Sometimes the service isn't great, but I go for the food (which is better than G. Lotus) Becca
Reviews: 39
  2004-06-20
5 out of 5 stars Very tasty, large menu. I love the chow fun, spring and summer rolls, and flan (mmm vegan caramel). Convenient location. funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2004-06-02
2 out of 5 stars Food has been subpar on the last few visits--too greasy and lacking in flavor. Their sister restaurant, Golden Lotus in Oakland, is much better! Dinner seems to be of a higher quality than lunch. grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24
5 out of 5 stars My favorite Asian restaurant! Vegan flan and drinks, heavy on the fake meat but it's very tasty. I like garlic beef, caramelized chicken & Pho soup. PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2004-05-23
3 out of 5 stars Good food but not great. I believe they use some ingredients that are not natural or healthful such as margarine. Tacky decor, mediocre service. Warren
Reviews: 37
  2004-05-21
3 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best asian restaurants in the Bay Area for quality of food. Service is not good which detracts from the whole experience, making it a 3 out of 5 for me. chris
Reviews: 80
  2004-05-19

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.