login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:2.71 out of 5 stars 2.71 / 5.0 Based on 7 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4 out of 5 stars I was there 4 years ago, and I had the lunch buffet. They come over to your table and scoop food out of "cow buckets" (looks like cleaning bucket. (it's actually respectful to serve at your table. Overall, I ate too much and felt too full afterwards. They had a daikon dish that was my favorite. I usually go to the Cash And Carry grocery store next door and buy a 75cents samosa. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2008-03-29
2 out of 5 stars Very expensive for the food you could get in other comparable restaurants. Swathi tiffins better alternative. $8 for idli combo is just ridiculous. Even the quality of this restaurant is not consistent. Avoid if possible. imperial_blues
Reviews: 1
  2008-02-23
1 out of 5 stars I am a south indian in bay area, and I recently visted this place. Food is not good as it used to be 3/4 years back. Prices also have gone up ($10+ for a lunch). Can go once in a while (when you are not in a mood to cook). Defenitely my home cooking is better than this... jaya44
Reviews: 1
  2007-07-13
1 out of 5 stars I have been recommended this restaurant as authentic. It was mediocre the first time I visited this place, about 5 months back. And the quality has been degrading ever since. The last time I visited this place, I ordered Aloo Bonda. The stuffing has a stale smell, must have been atleast 2 days old. The people at the counter seemed apathetic when I complained about it. Wont recommend it to anyone. pgayalu
Reviews: 1
  2007-06-16
1.5 out of 5 stars I used to go to Komala Vilas for my lunch on almost all my weekends for the past two years. The food used to be very good. Simple typical South Indian homely food. But in the past 3 months, the cleanliness level and the service has gone down. Yesterday, I found lots of spilled food under my chair and table, water dripping from the sink counter along with extremely poor service. thirdrock
Reviews: 1
  2007-03-11
4.5 out of 5 stars One of my fav south bay restaurants. Great deal on the buffett lunch at $9. Always a line out the door, but it moves pretty fast. Food is taste, but not overly spicey. Very sparse utilitarian decor and great service. Definitely not the place to take a date or anything - but great for a casual lunch with friends. chris
Reviews: 80
  2006-07-17
5 out of 5 stars Excellent, well-seasoned, and yummy Indian food! Could be a wait to get in; went for lunch buffet on Sat @ 2 pm and there was a queue of about 10 people waiting to be seated, but it was a short wait. Good value for money, and good tasting! During lunch buffet, all the main food items are vegan; there was buttermilk offered though. Today's offerings included cabbage & green peas, which I really liked, and I don't normally like cabbage OR peas; the other was a lentil curry which was great. Highly recommend, and I'll return again tammy
Reviews: 115
  2006-07-15

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.