login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.37 out of 5 stars 4.37 / 5.0 Based on 15 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
3 out of 5 stars Went with a friend a couple of months ago to check it out. The plantains were awesome. iI'd return for those and to try a smoothie. Update 12-30-09: Are they closed? I was in the neighborhood today and everything looked sealed. JamieR
Reviews: 3
  2009-12-30
5 out of 5 stars BIG NEWS. Seed of Life (another vegan restaurant) is now open late in the same location! Go a little before 6 SUN-FRI and try both! My Vital Ital review ==> I've always been 100% pleased with the food and unique atmosphere. The great recipes and quality ingredients always please, as does the ambience. It's true the place is not the cheapest around, but the quality and preparation are worth it. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-11-09
3 out of 5 stars It's worth eating here once in a while. It has good tasting shakes and sandwiches and they all are very filling so you won't leave hungry. The only problem is that everything is too sweet and salty. I always get thirsty after eating here. Make sure you're not in a rush. It can take 20 plus minutes to get your food. Also, the dining area is very tiny and noisy, but is very interesting to look at. eatlightly
Reviews: 2
  2008-06-06
3.5 out of 5 stars The Rasta stew was of average flavor and creativity, somewhat small portion for the price. Serving plates and bowls need to be removed where cracked and chipped. Cramped and noisy interior, but good place for a vegan smoothie and sandwich to go. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2008-06-02
3 out of 5 stars Friendly but quirky atmosphere, Very laid back staff that seem overwhelmed at times. Tasty but small portions. The Supreme Burger wasn't very super - hardly any filling. chris
Reviews: 79
  2008-06-02
3.5 out of 5 stars Seems like a throwback to another era -- quirky while abit quaint. Definitely laid-back. Restaurant staff are genuinely friendly. Food is delicious. If judged purely from a cost perspective, the simple food is overpriced for the quantity delivered, esp. in comparison to other restaurants. tammy
Reviews: 112
  2008-06-01
5 out of 5 stars Soooooo good, and great atmosphere. It makes me really sad that they close at 6. bacillusx
Reviews: 2
  2008-05-12
4.5 out of 5 stars I completely loved this place. My favorite was the avocado soy burgers - best I've ever had. The smoothies were not to my liking - a bit watered down - I'd suggest you say "hold the maple syrup, mahn." Update 6/25/2007 - food is still very yummy - business is definitely for sale - go now or you may never experience vegan African Jamaican food again. Lemonade rocks there!! veg4life
Reviews: 22
  2007-06-26
5 out of 5 stars I crave the food here almost daily! The fresh approach to jamaican and african is unrivaled here as exhibited by the ever-changing stew and whole, raw foods they use. I have never tasted a better jerk sauce! Not everything on the menu is available daily but that forces you to try new things on the menu which I highly suggest. Try all of their sandwiches, plantains, stews, and smoothies! :D Deebingo
Reviews: 5
  2007-05-08
5 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, they didn't have the No Meat Treat or Veggie Plate, but my friends and I had a stew that wasn't on the menu. It was super-yummy! The fried plantains are awesome. The ginger beer, which the friendly, helpful guy proclaimed as the best this outside of Jamaica was very, very strong! Will definitely go back. Sign outside says the biz is for sale by owner. :( Hours 11-7 not 9. spiffydog
Reviews: 5
  2007-04-15
5 out of 5 stars I love the tofu burgers with the avacado and soy cheese. The smoothies and plantains are also delicious. The place is very funky (don't go when you are in a hurry) but if you are in the mood for some tasty grub it can't be beat. oaktownveg
Reviews: 8
  2007-03-12
5 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this space - the energy, people, and food. It's a cozy small space with so much charm. Staff are super friendly - food is awesome - loved the avocado burger, smoothie with ginger, and beans, rice, jamaiican stew.. it's all great and my hubby loved it too! Good place to support!! Fun environment! Meghann
Reviews: 9
  2006-10-02
5 out of 5 stars I like the flavor and care they put into the food. They will be expanding their menu, with a "grand opening" on the weekend of August 26-27, 2006. The quality of the food is consistently good. Always fresh, vegan, and wholesome. Jon Spear
Reviews: 8
  2006-08-07
5 out of 5 stars First off the interior of this restaurant left me breathless. I had a Pure Niceness smoothie, a Sea Sprout live wrap, and a live lasagna, 2nd location, and an absolute culinary landmark..trust!! Kafkadesk
Reviews: 3
  2006-02-20
5 out of 5 stars Ital/Rasta food. Jamaican specialties: Ital soup, fried plantains, and rice and beans. Or nori wrap and tofu burgers! Don't miss the ginger beer and smoothies! Totally vegan and full of character. nina
Reviews: 1
  2005-05-06

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.