login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.03 out of 5 stars 4.03 / 5.0 Based on 20 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for a vege meal in downtown Oakland. In the past I've ordered off the menu, and always enjoyed the food. Today I ordered from the lunch buffet and couldn't believe how much food I got on the 5 item combo. All buffet items were quite good too. Service has been excellent last few times. Warning - this place is quite popular at lunch hour, you may wait. Omnivores like it too. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-06-16
3 out of 5 stars This used to be one of my favorite restaurants in the East Bay. Food is still good, but the prices keep going up, smaller portions and service has gone down hill. I still really like the fu young, eggplant claypot and the fake caramelized chicken. chris
Reviews: 82
  2007-09-18
2 out of 5 stars I really hate to give a bad review but every time we have been here lately the prices keep going up and the service keeps getting worse. The last time we went we actually left before the food arrived because we were left waiting so long. Will have to try Veg House in Alameda. I might still try here at lunch for the buffet. Very disappointing-this used to be my favorite restaurant. kittykris
Reviews: 24
  2007-09-18
3.5 out of 5 stars Food is delicious, lots of dishes with faux meats to choose from. Carmelized chicken: yum; Vegetable Chow Mein: bland; Tofu & Eggplant dish: yum; Ginger Fish: yum. Unforunately, the indifferent and sometimes slow service spoils my enjoyment of dining out. Have been a long-time customer; over the years, portion sizes have gotten smaller and prices are getting larger. tammy
Reviews: 118
  2007-07-15
5 out of 5 stars This is one of my favorite restaurants in the East Bay. And to paraphrase my 9 year old daughter - this place rocks! The jalapeno tofu is phenomenal. The spicy chicken and carmelized chicken are equally delicious. The facilities do not provide a lot of ambiance, but they are not distracting. Service is efficient if not friendly. terryvshaw
Reviews: 5
  2007-06-13
3.5 out of 5 stars It's no Golden Era, (or Golden Era 2 for that matter) but a great place to go in downtown Oakland for vegans. I agree that the service can be indifferent and are not the most attentive staff I have encountered, but all in all a good place for the price. seitan nic
Reviews: 15
  2007-05-30
4 out of 5 stars The food is pretty good, definetely a convenient spot for veggies who work on downtown Oakland. mikojak
Reviews: 4
  2006-12-20
5 out of 5 stars I still say this is the best vegan restaurant in the East Bay. I can't believe it has fallen out of the top ten. New discovery: Teriyaki "Chicken" served on a bed of fresh spinach. All dishes are great. Favorites: too many to list; try the carmelized chicken. kmeldrum
Reviews: 23
  2006-09-03
2 out of 5 stars Initially I was very impressed; however, I have now been short changed twice and so hesitate to go there anymore. Also they seem to be cutting back on ingredients. marie
Reviews: 2
  2006-05-04
3.5 out of 5 stars Decent food, maybe not as good as Golden Era - but at least this place is clean & no roaches! The chicken curry vermicelli soup is superb. I've had no problem with the service and eat there often. rabbit
Reviews: 4
  2006-04-15
3.5 out of 5 stars i have eaten here several times for dinner. the service is routinely horrible. no pleasantries and i have to ask for basics, like refills on water, etc. the food is only decent. not highly recommended eileenmmello
Reviews: 3
  2006-01-02
4 out of 5 stars very yummy but service sucked. gkellie
Reviews: 5
  2005-11-20
4.5 out of 5 stars Nice restuarant! I don't go out to eat very often so it doesn't take much to impress me. But the dishes at this place were all excellent. Gourmet Noodle would make an excellent lunch. Try the crepes! mike
Reviews: 10
  2005-09-12
5 out of 5 stars I love this place! I have been coming here for over 10 years. My favorites are the: Wonton Soup, Fried Imperial Rolls, Sweet-n-Sour and/or Lemon Chicken, Sesame Eggplant tofu, and Gourmet Fried Rice. Iggy
Reviews: 3
  2005-06-06
4 out of 5 stars Caramelized chicken was so-so tonight - queen's chicken at SJ vege house is much better. Service and Parking were awesome. 1000 layer tofu/eggplant is awesome!! veg4life
Reviews: 22
  2005-05-29
4 out of 5 stars The steam table lunch selections are consistently varied and tasty, as well as representing a bargain in noontime dining. I like the curry potato dish, and eggplant sautee, both over brown rice. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2005-02-06
4 out of 5 stars My first veg.-only restaurant!.Imperial Rolls were a winner. Texture on the "chicken" a bit off for me. Eggplant clay pot- take away the onions and you have a winner. Chocolate vegan cake to die for. Destiny
Reviews: 1
  2004-07-30
5 out of 5 stars 5 item Lunch steam plate TOGO with your own container, you have enough food for 2 people for around $7. Just add rice when you go home. The items are same everyday, I wish they will change it sunny
Reviews: 81
  2004-06-01
5 out of 5 stars My favorite restaurant ever! Try: vermicelli bowl w/imperial rolls, veggie fu yung, "chicken" & potato curry, tofu & eggplant claypot, thai hot & sour soup or vietnamese crepe (a meal in itself). Yum! grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24
5 out of 5 stars I have never been dissatisfied. The best vegan eatings in the East Bay! I recommend it all (except for the milk product items). Regina
Reviews: 2
  2004-05-11

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.