login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.43 out of 5 stars 4.43 / 5.0 Based on 27 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
2 out of 5 stars I live close by and I've been eating here for 6-7 years; Until recently I would rate them a 4.5. They've recently changed the recipe or ingredients for several items and it's a real downgrade in the flavor and quality. Some items are unchanged, but I doubt I'll be back in the near term. eric
Reviews: 7
  2010-11-23
4 out of 5 stars One of my favorite places to eat in the South Bay/Peninsula. Orange beef still one of my favs and they have this new dish called Black Pepper "Chicken" that's pretty good too. Service can be a bit spotty at times and if you're with a large group plan ahead as the space is tiny. chris
Reviews: 79
  2010-01-31
5 out of 5 stars One of the best vegan restaurants in the South Bay. Have been going there regularly for the last several years! Have introduced it to several non-vegetarian friends and they also liked it a lot. az3
Reviews: 4
  2009-05-02
3.5 out of 5 stars The scallion pancakes appetizer is my favorite item. The drumsticks appetizer are also quite good. As for the entrees, they use a lot of mock meat, and I'm not a big fan of their fake chicken or beef. I've never had a bad entree here, but I've also never been wowed by anything. The staff is very nice and this is the best vegan option in Mountain View. The prices are very reasonable. dviolet
Reviews: 15
  2009-01-04
5 out of 5 stars I can not count the number of times I have eaten at Garden Fresh; I like it that much. Some of my favorite dishes are orange peel "beef", carnival kabobs, kung pow eggplant, and steamed dumplings with plenty of chili oil. Mmmm! It's a friendly little place. It's just like how it would have been going home for lunch, if only my mom had been Chinese and vegetarian. AaronS
Reviews: 2
  2008-10-31
5 out of 5 stars I always order a lot so I can have leftovers to look forward to the next day. Even my non-veg husband loves Garden Fresh, and he is often a harsh judge of Chinese restaurants. I like the Black Pepper "Chicken". The "drumsticks" are the ONLY veg "meat" my 4 year old will eat ANYWHERE, and my 7 year old loves the noodle soup, so it's very family friendly, but my omnivorous mother was unimpressed. jessica
Reviews: 15
  2008-10-29
4.5 out of 5 stars A great place for someone who wants typical Chinese food, without the worries about what might be in it. I thought the service was good and friendly, but I did go late when the restaurant was not crowded. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-08-15
3.5 out of 5 stars Not a huge fan of their faux chicken dishes (curry chicken or hunan shredded chicken). I like the soft roll (rolled tofu skin with veggies in a brown sauce). Dana
Reviews: 30
  2008-06-07
5 out of 5 stars Amazing and addictively delicious. The only downside is that their most delicious dishes, like General's (non-)Chicken, have got to be heart-stoppingly unhealthy from the fried fake meat. But, it's the best veg chinese food I've had. After the first time I had it, I woke up dreaming about it! The staff at this restaurant is really sweet, too. meliae
Reviews: 15
  2008-02-18
4.5 out of 5 stars Yummy food - ample servings. Favorites: Corn and tofu soup, Scallion pancakes, Ham bundles (w/bok choy), veggie "duck" (with mixed veggies), and one of their board specials - Black Pepper "Chicken". tammy
Reviews: 112
  2008-01-22
5 out of 5 stars My favorites are "Green Boat" (huge sauteed portobello mushrooms over spinach fettuccine) and "Happy Family" (mixed veggies and mock meat stir fry.) Brown, not white, rice is a plus. kitzcatzhatz
Reviews: 20
  2007-08-06
5 out of 5 stars I live in Morgan Hill and I make special trips all the time for the general veggie chicken and the brown rice with minced vegtables. The service is always extremely fast, they are friendly and it is very affordable the ice cream is also fantastic I love this place! cbeatty
Reviews: 1
  2007-05-31
5 out of 5 stars I LOVE this place. Definitely one of the best veg places in the Bay Area. Vegetarian Ham is my favorite. Brought my omni parents there when they were in town and they still ask me about it almost 2 yrs later. In other words, even omni's love this place. Service has always been friendly. They now have Maggie Mudd's vegan Peanut Butter Palooka ice cream! Melissa
Reviews: 18
  2006-10-07
4.5 out of 5 stars Awesome food! The dishes far surpass their menu names like“Squid” and “Duck.” Rather than trying to mimic other foods, like most meat substitutes, the foods achieve a depth and uniqueness of flavor that can be wonderfully appreciated on their own terms. Some standouts you won’t want to miss are the Orange Beef, Sweet & Sour Pork, Kun Pao Eggplant, and Scallion Pancakes. Some dishes not so good. Bendavidow
Reviews: 4
  2006-08-14
5 out of 5 stars I love this place! The best faux sweet and sour pork. The vegi ham and duck are excellent. Generous portions at a good price. Friendly and courteous staff. tazforna
Reviews: 7
  2006-04-18
4.5 out of 5 stars We love this place. The spicey orange beef is my favorite, mom loves the sweet/sour "pork". All dishes aren't vegan though. The buns they use have diary and they put regular mayonaise in their sushi. carolroars
Reviews: 7
  2005-11-19
4 out of 5 stars My favorite faux meat Chinese food. My favorite is the vegi "ham" with the lettuce wraps. They have really good appetizers as well, such as the basil moo shu rolls and the scallion pancakes. ryebread
Reviews: 4
  2005-11-03
5 out of 5 stars My favorite in the south bay. The proportions are huge, yummy, and fresh. The service is quick and very friendly. Love the steamed dumplings. Haven't had a bad meal ever since it's been open!!! mac
Reviews: 2
  2005-10-25
2 out of 5 stars i lived in MV and found garden fresh to have adequate food and service, but nothing to write home about. if you're looking for quick, easy, affordable, give it a shot. but for great food, keep looking bingbing
Reviews: 3
  2005-09-30
5 out of 5 stars An ideal restaurant: friendly accommodating service, huge menu, ersatz meats, delicious food, easy parking, and reasonable prices. They gladly accommodated our no-added fat McDougall diet. DPressman
Reviews: 4
  2005-07-24
5 out of 5 stars Great food, huge portions, fabulous service. I go there as often as I can! The only thing to avoid is the fake duck. kalistys
Reviews: 4
  2005-06-06
5 out of 5 stars I LOVE this restaurant as well; I can eat there everyday!! The food is fresh and healthy, and the owners are willing to customize your orders. Try the steamed vegie dumplings; it's the best around! prymnumber
Reviews: 1
  2005-01-24
3 out of 5 stars a dingy restaurant in a dingy strip mall...steamed dumplings and scallion pancakes were doughy, 'green boat' delicious, beef and broccoli tasted 'brown'. The staff were the best thing about the place. qs
Reviews: 1
  2005-01-24
5 out of 5 stars i LOVE garden fresh. used to eat there at least every week when i lived in mt view, and now sometimes i drive down just for the cabbage wraps. mmm...chinese "fish" made from shitake mushrooms. yum w
Reviews: 3
  2004-12-23
5 out of 5 stars Love everything about this restaurant. It's a trip bringing guests - especially vegetarian ones who can't believe stuff isn't meat! Wonton Spinach Soup and freshed squeezed juices are my favorite! veg4life
Reviews: 22
  2004-08-21
5 out of 5 stars This was the first place we tried when we moved here last month, and we have become regulars. They can change dishes to your liking. Try the scallion pancake, spinach linguine w/ peanut sauce. Baincl
Reviews: 16
  2004-08-09
5 out of 5 stars One of the owners of MIllenium raved about it when she found out I lived in MV. Try the basil moo shu rolls and scallion pancakes...try #4...try everything :-) Best brown rice. Wonderful people. ThinkGreen
Reviews: 3
  2004-07-21

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.